Buffalo wings

On my trips to New York, I finally decided to taste and test as many as I could. In one week, I must have tried 2 or 3 places and I was pleasantly surprised by the heat and amount of meat this bar food has.

I managed to get large amounts of chicken wings from my local butchers – the first time I didn’t realise that each wing counted by the butcher is actually two pieces on the table. You need to snip off the wing tips at the first joint and then the remaining piece in two again approximately at the joint. So ordering 15 wings, let’s say for 3 people, turns into 10 pieces each, enough for a main course with bread to soak up the sauce, blue cheese dip and celery. And beer!

Ingredients:
serves 3

15 whole chicken wings

1/2 bottle of buffalo wing sauce (I use Wing Time Hot Buffalo Wing Sauce from my local Partriges. It is powerfully hot and we were feeling it! So for most I’d recommend the medium even mild versions).
bunch of celery sticks
blue cheese dip (recipe below)

3/4 cup mayonnaise
1 clove garlic, minced
2 tablespoons finely chopped fresh parsley
1/2 cup sour cream
1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
1 tablespoon white vinegar
1/2 cup crumbled blue cheese (I usually add a lot more cheese than this. Last time I made this I used some old Stilton that was too cultured to be eaten straight and the sauce was good enough to bottle and sell, as one of my guests kept saying!)
salt and pepper

I prefer to grill the wings, there is plenty of fat in the chicken skins, no need to add more artery clogging material. I heat the grill to medium/high. Baste the wings with sauce – keep enough aside to keep basting it every time you turn them. (Also, remember that as the sauce has been in contact with raw chicken make sure you use it only for cooking and never as additional sauce afterwards.)

Grill the wings for 20-25 mins in 5 minutes intervals, turning them over and basting them with more sauce. It’s a lot of turning but it’s worth it.

Leave a Reply

